j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2001-06-03 - 10:49 p.m.

peace be with you

just got back from my little sojourn into catholicism. it was a bit nerve-wracking for me to just go sit through a catholic mass. i've never been to a catholic service before and i was nervous about doing something wrong. in particular i expected mom to be there to help me through that, but she was too sick to come.

there was a lot of standing up and sitting down and kneeling and standing and sitting and such. that was easy, you just follow everyone else. there were all these things where everyone said something in unison. i was okay for "amen" and "and also with you" and even the lord's prayer, but there were some other things where i just stood there while everyone else recited and hoped nobody noticed me.

i guess the most blatant "i don't know what's goin' on" moment was when everyone went up for communion. fortunately for me there were a couple of other people who didn't go up, including one in my row.

really there was no one who looked askence at me or seemed in the least dissaproving. i was just hypersensitive about standing out.

jo3 and the choir were awesome. he was right about their voices. like angels. just like angels. they were doing three- and four-part harmonies that were just amazing.

jo3 introduced me to the arch-bishop after. a very funny, cool guy. jo3 mumbled my name a bit and the a-b said "John Paul? you look younger." jo3 mentioned that it was my first time in a catholic church. the a-b asked if i belonged to another church. no. was i baptized. no.

"we want you"

i turned to jo3 and said "i was expecting that". but it was all in fun and he was very, very nice.

i went out with the whole choir and various others to Benny's. just a great group of people. very fun. lots of joking, but also lots of support for eachother.

jo3 and one of the choir girls and i are talking about doing an open mike next monday. i need to find the song jo3 has in mind and learn the slide guitar solo in that time. no pressure.

by the by, me and the harmonica are closer than i remembered. moonshiner coming along well. dig me, i'm bob frickin' dylan. needs more practice, but better at this point than i had any reason to expect.

kay, i'm gonna try to get up early tomorrow and work out, (i know, i know, and monkeys might fly out of my butt) so i better hit the hay.

peace be with you.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com