j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2001-07-09 - 7:24 p.m.

corporate rock star

a bit more on the concept of the corporate rock star. the idea is to live your life like you're a rock star, only do it in a corporate setting.

so, show up to work hungover, or better yet, still drunk.

destroy things.

respect no authority or any people, least of all yourself.

be generally rebellious, slovenly and difficult to get along with.

every so often, work really, really hard and do something where you completely shine. then during the 99% of the time that people can't stand you, you point to the 1% of the time where you save the company's ass.

the concept of this was pioneered (at least within the realm of my knowledge) by an ex-co-worker of mine, who I'll call MargaritaMan (for what should be obvious reasons).

he once told me a story about his resisting the shift from mac to pc. the IT department removed his mac and put a pc on his desk. he called them up and said "what the f*** is this? get it off my desk, and give me back my mac." they ignored him.

hmmm... big mistake.

he picked it up off his desk and dropped it on the floor. a couple of times. he tried to boot it up. it booted. he shut it down, and hit it with a golf club. it no longer booted.

he called IT and said "my pc won't boot. give me back my mac." they asked why it no longer booted to which he replied "because i broke it."

they gave him back his mac.

now there may be some out there who question the veracity of this story. you well might, considering the cojones required for such behavior. however, this is from the man who told me about how he strapped his wedding ring to a strafing target at an air force base and had it bombed into oblivion. again, a perhaps dubious tale. then he showed me the video tape.

i watched this man tell our CEO that she was f***ed in the head. he didn't get fired.

that my friends, is why MargaritaMan is the world's first corporate rock star.

god bless 'im.

i just wish i had the nerve to become the second.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com