j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-03-06 - 12:48 a.m.

About Schmidt, the show, war, Jake the Snake

I'm thinking that the time is coming that I return to writing about ideas, and hopes, and dreams, and um....cool shit like that, instead of just "what I did on summer vacation" type entries.

Uh...that time is not now.

~*~

About Schmidt is the kind of movie that we need a hell of a lot more of in this country. I cannot describe how much I liked this film. It had a degree of honesty that is sorely lacking. It reminds me of a quote by Michael Caine "Some actors like to hold up a picture and say 'look at me'. I like to hold up a mirror and say 'look at you'." That's what About Schmidt felt like. A stimulus for self-reflection.

Plus, I gotta love a movie where I can see Jack Nicholson driving along a road and say to myself "I drive by that *exact* spot almost every day. And I love the fact that when Dermot Mulroney gives directions, they're real streets, and the directions are accurate.

I know I'm being a goon, but give me a break. It's not often that Denver gets to be in a movie.

~*~

The show goes up in two days. The run-thru tonight was brutal. The whole cast wants a postponement, and they're not getting it. All I can say is I'm glad as hell that I'm not going up this weekend.

Damn, yo.

~*~

Saddam Hussein says that the US is morally bankrupt.

I just wish the Angry Little Gnome wasn't so dead set on proving him right.

I wish like hell that we weren't going to war, but I can't forsee anything that's going to stop us now.

That's all I have to say about that.

~*~

I actually think that Brian Greise has gotten something of a bum rap from Denver journalists and fans. That being said, I'm actually not too sad to see him go. I don't know a lot about Jake Plummer, but I'm kind of excited that he's coming. It seems like one of those things where things come together the right way for the right reasons.

We have a lot of the right personnel (if we can beef up our secondary a bit). The main thing we need now is a strong leader and a strong team spirit. We've got all the pieces, we just need to put them together, and stop choking for no good reason. Here's hoping Jake the Snake can fill that leadership role.

I'm looking forward to a good season for the Broncs next year.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com