j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-04-24 - 10:03 a.m.

A bad day acting beats a good day of working.

So yesterday I took a day off of work to go to an audition. It's certainly not good for my finances to behave in this manner, but it's good for my soul.

The reason it took an entire day is that I wasn't just auditioning, I was helping to run the audition. The audition was for a staged reading of a screenplay, to occur very soon. The reading will hopefully raise some money for actually shooting the screenplay. I knew going in that the director liked me for a certain role, and nobody came along who did a better job of it, so the part is mine. Hopefully if we get money together to actually make the film I'd get the part then, too. Since I haven't heard back from the people at the other film audition I did (not really a surprise) this currently looks like my best shot at getting some film experience.

Besides all the stuff about getting experience as an actor, it was also just a very cool group of people to hang out with. You know, happy, excited, dedicated people. Yesterday was a very long day, and I ended up getting very little to eat, but it was such a great day. The worst day of doing theater stuff beats the best day of working.

God, if only I could find someone to pay me for this stuff. Common lament, I know.

Last night was another stage combat night, and it was cool. We did a lot of work with balance and trust. Finding ways to take some of your partner's weight as they're falling so that they don't hurt themselves. I ended up partnering with the instructor quite a bit which was cool. We did this push hands exercise that was so very like some of the stuff we used to do in Aikido. There are some more sword classes coming up soon that I *really* want to take. I'm going to have to make some hard decisions soon about how to spend my time. There are auditions and classes and so many things and I won't be able to do them all. Not by a long-shot.

I feel like my writing in here has really gone down hill. Maybe it's because I haven't had any caffeine yet today.

I need to go remedy that. Right about now.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com