j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-10-08 - 11:06 p.m.

Writing a song, and renewing a crush

Today.

Today I went tof a bike ride.

Today I finished a biography of Neil Young. I am not, generally a fan of his music. I have been reading this book for several months. It was a birthday gift from jo3. In his inscription he said "an artist is an artist, and I hope this one can inspire you". It was often a tortuous read, but in the end I was very much sucked in. And in the end, I ended with a lot of respect for Neil. He's had a hard life, and he's done a lot of things, and in his own words he's "left a big wake". I started to feel a somewhat kindred spirit.

Tonight, after finishing that book I sat down and wrote a song. The whole thing just came out in about twenty minutes. The third verse needs revising, and someday I should write a song with a fucking bridge, no? But I'm proud of it.

Then I came downstairs and watched the Independent Film Channel. I watched Clockstoppers. Good movie. Very independent. Great camera work. The woman who I was really struck by turned out to be Alanna Ubach. Which blew me away that I didn't even recognize her. Because in college I was addicted to Beakman's World (a Sat morning kids science show) and Alanna Ubach played the assistant Josie and I had the *hugest* crush on her. Now she's like 27 and she's incredibly beautiful and my crush is back full force and more. Damn. I have a whole new list of movies that I need to rent and see.

No more work yet on the screenplay, but I'm thinking soon. I need to hit that insomnia spot to get truly creative. Bad habit, that.

But already a pretty creative day.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com