j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-02-25 - 11:17 a.m.

All this and back pain too

So Saturday I made the mistake of picking up two people at the same time (I can't even begin to explain the circumstances of this decision). I did it, but it wasn't a smart thing to do.

You see I felt fine until the end of Lear. Then, as I was being helped off-stage (so I could die without interrupting the plot) I noticed that my back was in revolt.

Serious revolt.

Take the queen to the guillotine kind of revolt.

My entire lower back seized up completely. Tight as a drum and just burning with pain. I made it through the curtain call and the drive home with gritted teeth. Once home I sat in the magic chair (did I ever tell you about the magic chair? leather recliner with vibration *and* heat. I love me my luxuries, you know.) for an hour before limping to bed.

Yesterday we had a matinee. It was not fun.

I managed to loosen my back up with about fifteen minutes of painful stretching. As I said, it was not fun, but somehow I made it through the performance.

They say that growing old is not for wussies. I'm not saying I'm feeling old, but I think maybe I'm getting a glimpse into what it will be like. There will come a time when my body will start breaking down and I'll feel similar to this all the time.

Not looking forward to that.

Other than that, life is boring. I'm forgoing working out till my back feels better, so I'm pretty much shackling myself to the computer and trying to get some long-postponed work done.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com