j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-05-08 - 1:53 p.m.

Happy birthday to me

Let's contrast yesterday and today, shall we?

Yesterday, I took the day off of work, slept in, went to the store. I then went to rehearsal, where a Denver Broncos Cheerleader braided my hair. Then I sprinted by home, bolted down some dinner and went to stage combat class. In class, we spent two hours punching (air, then pads, then the air near each others heads, and fortunately, not each other). Then I came home drank a soda, ate some chips, and then convinced eRoommate to go see the 10 o'clock Spiderman with me (mini review to follow). Then I came back home, read and slept.

Today I'm back at work and bored out of my skull. Also I'm 30 today.

Yippeee skippy.

Tonight I have another rehearsal, and then if that gets out at a reasonable time, I'll get together with RockGirl for a bit.

Damn I'm tired today.

The whole being 30 thing is here, and I don't have much opinion about it. I feel like I'm getting my life onto a path where I want it to be. At the same time, I'm not getting there as fast as I'd like. I want so badly to not have to come to an office job any more.

This is a weird birthday for me. I don't think the people in the office know. I'm trying not to make it a big deal. I don't want to over-glorify this 30 thing. It is what it is, and I don't want to dwell on it.

This is bordering on dwelling.

So Spiderman. Let me first say that when I was younger I was a Spiderman freak of the first order. As such, I'm almost ashamed that I didn't see this film on opening weekend. But I'm also busy and averse to crowds. So here are some summary observations.

1. Tobey Macguire looks *exactly* like Peter Parker should. However, he, at times, acts *exactly* like a broomstick. For the most part he did a good job, but there were several scenes where he just looked paralyzed. It was like Sam Raimi said to him "Now just stand there like a zombie and let the scene go on around you." It made no sense.

2. Kirsten Dunst is the cutest thing on the planet. Saying anything more on the subject will only embarass me.

3. Willem Dafoe kicks ass. The part as written was terrible. He gave it life and character and depth that (almost) overcame the terrible dialogue he had to say.

4. Organic webshooters? Organic webshooters? This is a far bigger travesty than even Greedo shooting first. At least Lucas was raping his own legacy, not someone else's. This is the worst adaptation decision ever made. Period.

5. I had my doubts about Sam Raimi. (cough. Darkman sucks donkey. cough.) He did pretty well. He didn't ruin Spiderman. Which is good, because if he had, I would have had to stand in line to kick his ass.

6. speaking of Sam Raimi. I knew that his brother Ted, and his old friend (and my all-time favorite B-movie bad-ass) Bruce Campbell would be in it. I was not disappointed. I particularly like having Bruce come up with Spidey's name and most oft-used nickname (web-head).

Overall I was very pleased with the movie.

Okay, once again I must go. Work, life, etc. all are calling me.

Happy birthday to me.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com