j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-05-06 - 5:44 p.m.

Bob and a busy weekend, and swordplay and other random stuff

Oh, geez, Oh, Pete, Oh, gosh, Oh, golly.

Where to begin, what to say, what was in that sandwhich I just ate? I really need to update more frequently, but I have had *no* time to myself in days, and I have no idea when I'll have any time in the coming weeks. Busy does not even begin to describe it.

First of all. Friday night. Bob. Really, for those in the know, I could just say "Bob" and that would about do it. Bob rocks. Bob rules. Bob can make your head melt. Bob. This tour is called the "Electric light and motion" tour or something like that. Basically it was Bob, with a guitar, and the requisite effects (cause Bob is a Gear Guy), and a big screen behind him with all these movies and stuff going on. The movie for "thumbtacks" was just brilliant.

It was a great, great show.

That said, there were some small dissapointments. The thing is that Bob was playing and singing, but he also had all these backing tracks. Drums, bass, more guitar, some keyboards. Which ended up being a great sound. The thing is that I know that there's a loss of sponteneity there. It's not like Bob can get really into a song, and turn to the band and yell "let's do one more chorus" because the band is a mini-disc player and they're not listening. Also, Bob's voice and guitar were too far down in the mix. I came to hear Bob play live, not a recording of Bob playing in the studio. I can do that at home. Finally, it just made me wonder if he's completely incapable of finding anyone he wants to play with. This may all make it sound like I didn't enjoy the show, which is not true, because I loved it.

Saturday, I got up early (for a Saturday) and went to visit my sister at her big event. I'm not going to try to describe it right now, but it's part of her consulting business, and it's the event for which I made the web site to track registrations. Anyway, last year at this event I volunteered all day. This year, I just dropped by for a bit to say "Hi" and be supportive.

Then I ran some errands in the afternoon. Saturday night I went to see the show at Cow Place and went out with the gang afterwards. I finally got scheduled to perform (since I've been the world's most dutiful understudy for months now) in two weeks. I'm a little nervous about it because I need to run lines a bit between now and then and I have very little idea when I'm going to accomplish that.

Yesterday morning I got up even earlier (for a Sunday) and went to another stage combat class. Swashbuckling. Very cool. We spent nearly an hour getting stances and basic movement down. It was a three-hour class and I was *sore* by the end of it. Then I went over to Cow Place again for the matinee. I spent the show backstage, watching where all the costumes and props go, so I could be ready.

I went home after that and took a nap, because I was just exhausted. Then last night I went over to RockGirl's and watched High Fidelity. Love that movie. Need to own it at some point.

Tonight is the first class for Broadsword. I can't wait. I'm doing stage combat classes four days a week now. My teacher told me yesterday that we'll be seeing each other more than either of us sees our respective girlfriends. True that.

Well, once again, it's kind of a crappy update, of the "what I did on my summer vacation" variety. I want to find some more time to write, but at this point I'm just busting with activity. I'm almost hoping to get canned from Temp Job just so I have some time to myself.

I don't remember if I've mentioned this before, but I recently dusted off my old screenplay effort. I realized that if I take the time to format the thing correctly, I may actually have nearly enough material for a feature-length film. Of course, I have to write some of the critical scenes yet (like, say, the ending), and there's some dreck in there that absolutely *must* go. But it was kind of encouraging. We'll see. When I find some time.

Oh yeah. In two days I'll be 30. It's not really a terrifying thought anymore. I've been so excrutiatingly aware of its approach for this whole year that it actually feels like a fait accomplit. It'll just be making it official.

Whatever. I need to send out a few more emails to make it look like I was working all this time, then head off to Broadsword class.

Bon soir, mes aimees.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com