j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-05-31 - 2:14 p.m.

Weird encounter with a bullet casing

Randomness. Plenty going on. That which takes most of my time is least worthy of being written about. So randomness. Things which just kinda happened.

Today jo3 and I walked over to Fish Taco for lunch. We took a long route back, to enjoy the weather. On the corner of 16th and Larimer, jo3 spotted an empty bullet casing lying on the sidewalk. I can't describe to you how incongruous it was, sitting there. The sun was shining, and the wind was blowing softly, and people were brushing by us, on their way to this or that. It's a beautiful day, and there on the sidewalk is evidence that someone fired a gun. Someone fired a gun at a spot that I go by almost every day. A spot where I'd hoped no one would ever fire a gun.

Not that spot in particular. Everywhere. I hope (and not consciously, but fervently) that no place I ever go, or have been, has gunfire. It felt like walking into a cloud. It really freaked me out.

This is Denver ferchrissake. Things like that don't happen here. Sure, people get killed around here, but generally our streets are safe. I scoffed at my sisters' concerns a few weeks ago when I walked six blocks by myself to get to my car. I walked by that same damn intersection without a thought, as I've done thousands of times before.

And today there was a bullet. I have no idea what to make of that. jo3 picked it up. It was a .38. We joked about his fingerprints being on it. It shouldn't really bug me but it has.

Moving on to new and different randomness. Sunday night I'll be taking a class in trapeze. Hotspur won it at auction and couldn't make it. So I'll be going. Don't know what to think of it, but I'm kinda excited. Could be

pretty cool.

Oh geez, there's a million more things, but I'm not feeling like writing them right now. I'll be moving on Monday, and this weekend will be crazy busy. The computer will get packed up some time this weekend, and who knows when I'll get it back up and the internet connection working again. So if you don't hear from me for a few days, I'll be back as soon as I unpack my brain.

Hasta la pasta, kiddies. Have a great Friday.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com