j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2001-10-02 - 1:19 p.m.

Columbus Day, the Patriarchy, and Togas. (Nobody ever said I wasn't weird.)

So it's a happy day in the world of j$ job. I *finally* got a new computer at work. After seven months of slogging through my work on a computer that would server better as a door stop, I *finally* got a new one. And now I get to get it all setup and working today, so people won't actually expect me to get anything productive done. Three hour lunch anyone?

Just kidding. I still am working. Like the dog that I am.

More good news on the work front. I just realized that I get next Monday off. Because of Columbus Day. Yahooo!

Let me now apologize to everyone out there of Native American descent. I do not intend to celebrate the anniversary of genocide. I intend to sleep in and eat Doritos.

Let me also apologize to everyone out there of Italian descent. I did not mean to imply that someone you might respect and look up to was responsible for genocide (he just pointed those who *were* responsible at those spiffy new continents to conquer).

Let me now, just to cover my bases, apologize to everyone of every descent. I'm sorry that I'm a white male and that by virtue of that fact am unwittingly and unknowingly oppressing and marginalizing you every time I breathe in and out. I realize that as a unintentional member of the Dead White European Male Hegemonistic Patriarchy, I am partially responsible for every bad thing done by one human being to another. Ever.

Oh-Kay. Don't know where all that came from.

I'm just going to quietly back away from that topic before I get into any more trouble.

I guess I'll just try to figure out what I'm going to do with my three-day weekend. Ooh, and I'll have the house to myself, as eRoommate is going to Vegas. (Vegas, baby, Vegas.)

Who's up for a toga party?

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com