j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-05-13 - 10:46 a.m.

ShyGirl; busy, happy weekend; and the goodness of life

So, let's see. I haven't been writing because I've spent just about every spare moment with ShyGirl.

Things are going well. So well, that it's almost scary sometimes.

Friday night was my big birthday shindig. Tons of folks. Great people. I received three bottles of Captain Morgan's as gifts. This because my friends know me well. jo3 put in an unexpected appearance, and it was really cool for me to be able to introduce him and ShyGirl. They're two people who I really want to have get along. ShyGirl was, well, shy much of the evening. But she likes my friends, and seemed very happy that I have so many good friends. Really, it was just one of those nights where I was so happy, and looking around me wondering what it is I do that can inspire loyalty from so many great people.

Saturday, I was too hung over for Tai Chi, though I feel huge guilt about that now. I hung out with ShyGirl most of the day, and then rushed home to get my crap together for the show. I performed my third role in this show. (Stimpy has been calling me the uber understudy, and I'm finally starting to think it's appropriate. I've never been so busy as an understudy.) The show went pretty well. I didn't miss any entrances or lines. I had two songs to sing, and they went pretty well, but they're both right at the top of my range, so my voice was pretty thrashed on Sunday.

Hmmmm...Sunday. Let's see. I had my first day of real work at the bike shop. It went pretty well. We were overstaffed, so I didn't really have to deal with too many customers. I was able to help most people pretty well, and I feel comfortable with the cash register thing. But when people ask about this bike or that bike, or what kind of clips should I have, or what's the difference between a doohickey and a hoozejigger, man, I have no idea. I usually have to find someone else to answer their questions. So I have a ton of research and learning to do so that I can actually help people out. ShyGirl picked me up from work, and we went over to Mom's for Mother's Day dinner. ShyGirl seemed to get along pretty well with my family, and I think they like her. She was pretty cuddly, so I hope that that didn't bother anyone. I dunno. I'm not ashamed of her, and I really love how affectionate she is, but I'm not always completely comfortable being that affectionate in front of other people. Mostly because I don't want them to be uncomfortable. Anyhoo.

Last night was supposed to be band practice, but it fell through. (Based on his behavior on Friday night, I suspect that HeavyG is pissed off about something to do with my dating ShyGirl. But I really don't want to get into it now.) So I went over to ShyGirl's place. (Are we sensing a trend here?) I played some of my songs for her, and she read me some of her poems, and it was great.

Seriously, I'm amazed at the communication we have. I've already told her stories that I haven't shared with anyone in years. I had that song I wrote when I was all angry and bitter about her going back to her ex. I not only told her that I wrote such a song, but I sang it for her. Then we talked about it.

It's like right now I feel like there's nothing we can't talk about. And there's no problem or roadblock that we can't solve by talking through.

Seriously, I've never been this open with someone at this stage of a relationship, and I'm amazed and so encouraged by that.

Life is good.

Damn, Howdy, life is good.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com