j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-04-15 - 5:09 p.m.

Who got the part?

You know, whenever I feel like absolute crap, usually something good comes along to pick me up. Thank goodness, I got another one of those today.

This afternoon I auditioned for a independent short film. Again, no pay, but more experience, and more exposure. I went in to the audition pretty well prepared. As a matter of fact, as the character only has six lines in the whole film, I already had the entire part memorized. I also dressed as close to the character's costume as I could find, to help them see me in the part.

The character is kind of a smarmy dude, who loses his shit and ends up shooting someone. There's more to it than that, but it definitely looks like a challenging role, because he goes through this huge swing of emotions in a very short amount of time.

I read the main scene a couple times through. Then they had me read the scene again, but with the emotion that he has once he's lost his shit. That was definitely a challenge, but I guess I pulled it off.

They offered me the role on the spot. They used phrases like "you nailed it". On my way out, I overheard someone say that they were getting chills during my reading. It was such a huge boost to my confidence.

I'm psyched beyond words. The whole drive home, I sang the "Who got the part?" song. It goes like this.

Who got the part?

j$ got the part.

Who got the part?

j$ got the part.

Who got the part?

j$ got the part.

Dee dee dee, da da da, cha cha cha!

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com