j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-12-19 - 11:29 p.m.

Trying to invoke the healing power of music

Tonight I'm trying to invoke the healing power of music. I sat down tonight and looked up a bunch of songs I want to learn to play (www.olga.net -- love it). Then I printed out about 40 of them. Then I went up to my study and played guitar for three hours straight.

Some were songs I'd played before and forgotten about (Driving with your boots on). Most were songs I've never played before. Of those, some were really easy to learn (Tom Petty's American Girl) some were middling difficult, or too frustrating to obsess over tonight (Fragile, and Dear God). Some were just freaking impossible (Birdhouse in your soul).

But CG and I are going to try to get together on Saturday and play, so I figured I should get myself ready for that.

And in the meantime, I want music to help me feel better.

Cause I need feelin better. Pretty bad.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com