j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2001-11-15 - 11:42 p.m.

The funniest thing happened on Jerry Springer today...

Yeah, well, what to say?

This always happens to me when I'm unemployed. I end up with no stories and nothing to talk about. My friends will talk about what happened to them at work and brain-dead management, and from hell customers, and the cute waitress at lunch.

I'll find myself starting sentences with "The funniest thing happened on Jerry Springer today..."

Okay, not really. Cause I *hate* Jerry Springer. It actually goes "The funniest thing happened on Judge Judy today..."

Which reminds me. Daytime TV? So worthless. I've only spent maybe half an hour this week in front of the TV. I'll plunk down in the chair, flip it on, flip through the channels once, then turn it off. What was it the Boss said? "57 channels and nothing on." Amen, Bruce.

So in other news the past two days I've gone over to the little mini-gym and did the stationary bike for 45 minutes. (No lifting cause of the bum shoulder, seeing the Doc tomorrow.) And then it was all sunshiney and beautiful, so I went for a walk today, too. No worthless bump on a log, me, nossir.

eRoommate had the splendid suggestion that I should get a job at our local "We've got everything, *and* we're not huge soulless corporate" bookstore during the holiday rush. It's like maybe the best idea ever. I think that, once I'm back from my little vacation, if the job hunt is not going well, I may do just that.

I've been trying the whole sleep in late and do nothing all day thing. It's going to make me crazy. But in a way, that's the point. I need to take the opportunity to get the laziness out of my system, so it'll help me get the drive up to do some stuff. My list of things to do is huge, and I haven't started any of it yet.

You wanna know what's on it?

Write. Not just these lame entries, but actually sit down and write some stories. Tons of ideas. None are on paper. I should really dust off that screen-play, too.

Music. I may not start the voice lessons yet ($) but I want to learn a bunch of new songs, and write a bunch of new songs. I need to take this time to go out to the woodshed and practice my ass off.

Acting. Besides volunteering for Scooter (he directed the last play I was in, and is now running his own theater company full-time), I should work up some monologues. I should also contact some talent agencies here in town. I likely won't get any head shots done just yet though (again with the $).

Study. Assuming that I'm going to eventually end up at some kind of computer job again, I should take this time to study up on some stuff. You know, hit the books and improve my skills. Boring as hell, but I really should do it.

The astute reader will note that the first three things are all creative, and only at the bottom of my list do I get to the whole "real job" thing.

Maybe I should take the hint.

Anyway, I'm going to go read some more, then shluff off to bed. I've been up almost thirteen hours now and I'm *beat*.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com