j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

-

Linux Me up, Baby

In the past couple of days, I've accomplished exactly two things: I cleaned my apartment, and I cleaned Windows out of my apartment. I finally got sick of Microsoft's piece of garbage operating system. So I'm now writing this on a Linux machine.

I've worked with Linux before, but strictly as a development environment, never as a desktop machine. I'm not sure if I'm going to end up liking it. The frustrations have not been trivial, but I'm determined to have as little to do with Microsoft and their crappy products and their evil, anticompetative ways as possible.

Besides, I'm sick of paying for software.

*~*

Just to weigh in on the topic she brought up.

It is so totally true that people assume that you're christian. Happens to me all the time. It's particularly odd for me because I know enough about the religion to be one, and I can talk the talk, but I choose not to be one. The weirdest thing for me is that I don't categorize myself. I don't belong to any religion. People don't know how to respond to you when they can't pigeon-hole you.

On the topic of "In your face", let's re-visit the concept of an on-line journal, shall we? What Gingi writes in her journal is there for you to read *if you choose to*. She's not getting in anyone's face. You don't like what she says? Don't read it. But perhaps more importantly, I think she has a right to get in peoples' faces. Diversity is not something people will pursue by themselves. They need to be reminded of differences. If we all pretend to be good little drones, we will all *become* good little drones. People need to be presented with different viewpoints and ideas. People need to have their cages rattled every so often. It may not be comfortable for them, but personal growth rarely is.

Okay, that's my piece. Please feel free to ignore it.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com