j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-06-26 - 6:19 p.m.

More peaks than valleys

So, one of my teachers from the Intensive told me on Tuesday that I just *had* to audition for this show she helping out with. So I went to audition. Of course the role was Diego Rivera. Who was like twelve years older than me and sixty pounds bigger. And I just did not have the look at all for this character. But it was a great character, and a great play, and so I went.

I just got a very, very nice voice mail from the director. I, not surprisingly, did not get the part. I'm just too young. But she said that my reading and interpretation of the part was dead on. And that I'm a very talented and intelligent actor and she'll keep me in mind for future productions.

Which, really, has made my day.

Oh, yeah, plus HerrDirector called me up yesterday and offered me a part for a show I didn't even audition for. And I just had to say yes. Because, you know, you just gotta.

I was already feeling pretty good today. This afternoon we all spent time pretending we were rock stars. We all got dressed up in costumes and lip synched to songs. I did Spinal Tap's Big Bottom. Complete with the drummer keeling over at the end. I also got to be guitar player for Tribute, by Tenacious D, and Bring Me To Life, by Evanescence. Both of which were so, so, so, so, freaking fun. This afternoon was by far the best time I've had in years. Just years. Everyone was beyond supportive, and it was just a kick ass afternoon all the way around.

My good mood was marred somewhat by the fact that my car, my beloved Sheila, has started making bad grinding noises when I turn right at low speeds. And I can just feel how much money that's going to take to fix. I can already hear the sucking noise from my bank account.

But I got that message, and it was just such a boost, that I'm ignoring the car woes for the moment.

Sure, sure, it's peaks and valleys, but I tell you, kiddos.

The peaks are pretty high today.

And the view is great.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com