j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-10-17 - 3:05 p.m.

No Maps

Last night we had our first post-witch hunt improv class. There was a fair amount of shame-faced-ness and regret (with one notable, and gleeful exception). But, the fact is that it was our best class in weeks. And we had fun.

I still feel like a dick about the situation, but in the end it might have been for the best.

Today, among the varied and sundry very useful things I did (ahem), I watched a documentary on the Independent Film Channel. It's called No Maps for these Territories, and it's basically one big interview with William Gibson. Wicked cool, lemme tell you. I'm a fan of William Gibson's writing, but I'd never seen an interview of him before. He's plenty smart, that's for sure, but he also has a biting sense of humor.

The movie itself was really good. It primarily took place in the back seat of a car. What took me a while to realize is that the views outside the windows kept changing. Sometimes, the rear window would be what was actually going on outside the car, while the side window would be running in reverse, or fast-forward, or looping. There was a very subtle cast of unreality to the whole film, which I thought was very appropriate to the subject.

Damn good flick. If you like William Gibson, I'd say it's required viewing.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com