j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2001-10-15 - 12:02 a.m.

Nothingness, and then some optimism, masquerading behind yet *more* bitching about loneliness.

Today was a day of Nothingness. Or very near to it.

I had a list of things to accomplish today. Only one thing on that list got done. That was the gym.

Watching the Broncos win was on my list, and I did my part, but they, sadly, fell through on their side of the bargain.

There was a lot of sitting around, some reading, some TV. The daily email missives. Rudy and HeroMan popped by in the evening for some cards.

Tonight I am continuing my effort to avoid the maudlin. To resist the pessimism that colors my thoughts. Somewhere out there in my future is the picket fence and the well-scrubbed kids. Somewhere out there in the vast unknown are PTA meetings and a life more ordinary and yet more spectacular than the one I currently live.

Sure, there are a lot of wrong turnings I could take between here and there. But to be honest, the biggest of those...

Is Nothingness.

See there's a continuum. It goes from Cowardice, to Caution, to Common Sense, to Confidence. It's been a long time since I've seen the latter end of that continuum, and I've been living quite a long while between Caution and Cowardice.

And that leads to Nothingness.

You know..."How's your love-life j$?"

"Epitomizing Nothingness, thanks for asking."

And despite the fact that I'm sitting here bitching about being lonely *again*, what I'm really saying is that I'm not as worked up about it as I usually am.

And I'm trying, consciously trying, to avoid the pessimism, and the maudlin, and the self-fulfilling doom and gloom.

And I got a reminder this weekend.

That worst-case scenarios?

That's just what they are. Worst. Case.

The worst case doesn't happen all the time.

It doesn't even happen very often.

And since I don't need to be expecting the worst case at all times, maybe I can shift away from Cowardice. Maybe even travel through Caution, and throw it to the wind.

Cause, you know, statistically, that Best Case?

It's bound to show up eventually.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com