j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-01-22 - 12:35 p.m.

Cider House Rules, Roe v Wade

It happened accidentally, but I think it was kind of apropos that, last night, on the eve of the 30th anniversary of Roe v Wade, I watched Cider House Rules. Which was good, but yet another instance of a book not *quite* making a graceful transition to the screen. There was too much story to make into a movie, and in my opinion, some of the best parts of the story were left out. All we had left was the Dr. Larch/Homer relationship, and the love story, which became even more hopeless and pathetic than it was in the book. At least in the book, all the members of the warped little love triangle managed to reconcile and deal with each other. Instead, in the movie Homer just runs away.

Oh yeah, Roe v Wade. It's a weird thing about me. I don't really like the idea of abortion. I wish it were not necessary. I wish that technology and religion, and goddamned adult responsibility could do away with the need for abortions. I really do. Because I'm not certain enough about the critical questions, to feel one hundred percent comfortable with the whole issue.

But, that doesn't mean that I don't support a woman's right to choice. I do. Totally and unequivocally. Because I'm a realist.

Abortion isn't like drugs. Drugs are illegal to keep people from hurting themselves. Abortions are legal to keep people from hurting themselves. As long as there are unwanted pregnancies, there will be abortions. The question is, will those abortions be safe, or potentially deadly?

~*~

Anyway, enough political pap. I just found out I have an audition tomorrow. For a commercial. Yeah, baby. Work. Paid work. It's all about confidence, now.

Which, I need some work on.

But I'm starting to try some meditation, to help get my center back. That might help.

Wish me luck

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com