j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-01-03 - 11:40 a.m.

I always knew I could be a bastard

Last night, as I was driving home, I was talking to BigSis on my cell phone. She said to me "I always knew you could be a bastard". I agreed wholeheartedly.

I got the part. I'll be playing Edmund, The Bastard.

Somehow, I managed to get the part I wanted. I'm not sure how, because I totally blew my monologue. I got up there, started in, and totally hung up on the second line. The word "surfeit" just vanished from my brain. I stopped, started over, and hung up on the same spot. Mortified, I ran over to my seat, picked up the script, read the first two lines from it, then dropped it by my side and finished the monologue flawlessly. Oh, but oh, I was so pissed at myself.

Fortunately, the rest of my readings came off pretty well, and I was apparently able to convince the director that I'd just had an attack of nerves, and I really could act in spite of that.

The downside that I am currently not contemplating too closely is the extremely huge amount of work I have ahead of me. Huge.

I mean this is Shakespeare, ferchrissake. I can't just memorize the gist of a line, and fudge the words. I have to get it. Word for word for word.

Plus, we're rehearsing pretty much every weeknight. 7-10. I'm pretty much going to vanish from the radar screen and be gone.

I know that RockGirl will be patient. I hope my friends will as well.

It's going to be a lot of work.

But I'm going to be in Shakespeare, dammit.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com