j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-03-03 - 11:58 p.m.

Aunt and Uncle redux, Tai Chi, Tech Week

Okay, so here's the deal. My aunt and uncle aren't really bad people. It's just that they're selfish, racist, and too rich for their own good. They think they love my sisters and I, but I contend that they can't see past their vision of us to who we really are. They ignore our differences. They ignore our pained expressions when they talk about "those people" and "that damned Saddam". (This weekend we played a rousing round of "Whose ass would *you* like to stick a cruise missile up?". Fun for the whole family.) They ask questions, but either ignore the answers, or interrupt with their own opinions. They say one thing to your face, and another behind your back. (Though, to be fair, we kind of do that to them. It's what extended family is all about.)

It's a good thing I only get them in small doses. They want me to come and visit them. Not going to happen. Anything more than a couple of days makes me crazy.

~*~

Saturday I started taking classes for Taoist Tai Chi. This is a good thing. This is a very good thing for me. Five minutes after I walked into the place, I felt right at home. The people are nice, the philosophy jibes well with my view of the world. Plus, Tai Chi itself promises to be a good form of exercise and a moving meditation all rolled up into one. Both of which I really need. More the meditation than the exercise, but both are good.

~*~

The show I'm understudying is in tech week this week. Long, boring, late nights are the order of the day. It's going to be a really ugly opening weekend. Nobody's off book yet. Really ugly.

My only comfort is in knowing that I probably won't have to go up for at least a couple of weeks. Which should be plenty of time to learn my lines.

Now if only I can get the break dancing down in that time.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com