j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-09-05 - 10:46 a.m.

Warping chess

Last night I created a variation on chess. It involves a smaller board, and fewer pieces, and if you're not paying attention, the game can end in like four moves. eRoommate and I played it for a couple of hours, and once we discovered all the obvious blunders it was gratifying to see how strategically complex it can be. Not like I can really take credit for that, because the real strategy of chess was worked out centuries ago in designing how the different pieces move. It was just cool to see that I could muck with it without destroying it utterly.

It is, however, frightening to me that I'm coming up with variations on games. I'm thinking I need a job or something. I'm not going to make another serious job search until the middle of this month. Starting tonight I have rehearsal every night (except sunday) through next friday. I'm going to be a busy, busy boy, and the days will be used for sleeping.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com