j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-07-28 - 11:09 p.m.

A weekend of the arts

Friday's show kicked ass. We had a gaggle of young punks in from Kansas and they ate it up. They were the best crowd we've had in a dog's age. Until Saturday. BoBoGirl's family flew in from Boston, and despite all the anxiety-causing crap they did to her, which I won't *even* go into, they were a very biased, and vocal crowd. She rose to the ocassion and had her best show ever. Afterwards, I found myself signing a poster (which was kind of surreal for me) for her mother.

Last night we closed down the bar. It was a good night, with some people getting pretty far into their cups and speaking more frankly than usual. But it was all about the love, which is why I love and respect these people so much. Theater people are really like no others.

I have this recurring thought that someday my oldest, dearest friends are going to say to me "You got into theater, and you just disappeared." Because, one, it takes so much freaking time. And two, I've met so many great people in theater. I could almost have a complete social circle from that. Except that I really need my old friends. They're the nearest and dearest for a reason. I know I've been neglecting them. I know it, and I want to make amends. It's just so hard.

Today I slept in late, late, late, and futzed around for a while. I went to see Dogg's Hamlet, Cahoot's Macbeth up in Boulder. It's the same company where I did Lear, and it was cool to see some friends from that. I'll tell you, that is a great play, too. I love Tom Stoppard. He's really brilliant. There are some very subtle jokes, that you really only get if you know theater, or Shakespeare. There were several times where I was laughing uproriously, and no one else in the audience so much as tittered. But then, I'm wicked smart.

There was a barbecue afterwards, and I hung around there for a bit, which was cool. Very nice people. RockGirl and CutestBoy came up for a bit, and that was fairly good. I'm still very angsty, and we need to have a chat, but when she's not getting on my case about never seeing me, we still get along pretty well.

Tonight I went down to CowPlace to see the premier (and quite possibly the only showing) of an independant film made right here in Denver. Almost the entire cast have played at CowPlace in the past. It was a good concept, though I wanted more from the execution. There were several performances that to my mind were just a hair less convincing than I needed. Entertaining nonetheless. It's always good to see local efforts. There really is a lot of talent in this town.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com