j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2001-12-14 - 10:24 a.m.

random entry about preemptive schmoozing, not writing screenplays, and other stuff

The random update factory is now in business.

So a couple of days ago I submitted my resume to Rudy's company. He basically wants me to come there and work for him. Which I could deal with. Because we've worked together before, and I know we work well together. And because he wants to basically figure everything out and then just tell me what to do and I do it. And I'm okay with that. It sounds good to me. I want to go to a place every day and do a little bit of thinking and a lot of coding and keep my life focused on other things yet get paid for it.

Anyway, I sent in the resume, and heard that they were going to call to set up an interview, so I diligently waited by the phone, and. No call. And more no call. And yet more no call. So I hitched up my gumption, and called them. Did a little preemptive phone interview yesterday. Of course The Man (otherwise known as the VP of Technology) wasn't there, so it was me talking to HR lady and nothing conclusive could happen, really.

So then last night, Rudy calls me up, and says DutchGoddess has bailed on him (big shocker there. he says he's through with her and her shit. I'll believe it when I see it) for his company Xmas party, and do I wanna go and do some preemptive schmoozing? Sure why not? So I got dressed up and put on the brain-choker (aka a tie) and went and had a nice free dinner on the company that I want to join.

They really seem like good people. I didn't get to know very many of them well, but I was there, getting my face seen, smiling a lot, being polite, and whipping out a couple of really good jokes at exactly the right time. I think that overall I made a pretty good impression. Of course, the CEO may have come away with the impression that Rudy and I are gay. Or she may have just been drunk. Or joking. Very hard to tell.

In other news I have a new idea for a screenplay that I'm kicking around. (I never actually bother to write, you know, I just "kick around" ideas. Maybe I should actually write some day, no?) After seeing a lot of robbery-oriented movies in the past month, I've come to the conclusion that they're generally pretty poorly written. In particular, I keep thinking about Swordfish (more than a month ago, but such a stinker that it sticks in the brain) and how pathetically inaccurate all the computer-related stuff in that movie was. I swear they must have just gone to the Wired site and taken words at random.

So I'm working on an idea for a movie about a real cyber-crime. One that is, if not actually possible, at least plausible. Two problems so far. 1) nobody but the computer geeks are going to care and 2) I just reminded myself that the cardinal sin of the heist movie is to focus on the heist at the expense of character (and having the main character own a jazz bar and promise his girlfriend that this is his last job is not character development, it's hack).

Tonight, Cake show.

Tomorrow night, I'm seeing a play directed by a friend of mine. Mom is going, too, because she also knows the director. RockGirl may be coming, as well. I would be worrying about how weird it is to bring your mother on a date, but I'm still trying to figure out if it *is* a date. Gee, j$ confused about a woman? Will wonders never cease?

Now, I must hit the gym, and run my lines (doing voice-over recording for BigSis tomorrows).

Have a happy whatever.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com