j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-08-16 - 12:51 p.m.

More ranting about baseball

Because discussions of baseball are more fun than any of the other crap I come up with...

Ah Jim. I feel your pain. I know. I understand. Here in Denver we have something similar to Bean Town's dysfunctional love affair with the Sox. They're called the Broncos. You see, before the back-to-back Superbowl win glory days, the Broncos loved to take us all the way to the Superbowl, and then suddenly decide to suck ass. Four times they did that to us. It ripped my heart out through my nose every time. Of course, the Broncos did finally win it all. Twice. As for the Sox, I'll let you draw your own conclusions.

Oh, and as far as being saddled with the Rockies. Well, I know there are tons of purple-clad morons in this town who somehow can take off work in the middle of the day to watch them. Myself, I like to watch the Rockies lose. I want the Rockies to lose so badly and so often that nobody watches them, and nobody goes to the game, and eventually they wither up and blow away. I don't want a baseball team in my town. All it does is make it hard to park, and supersede my favorite shows with the most boring televised event in history. Before the Rockies came to town, Baseball was something icky, but distant from my life. Kind of like Ebola. Yes, it's nasty, but it doesn't affect me personally. Now, the Rockies mess with me on a weekly if not daily basis. I didn't really hate baseball until we got a team.

And through some weird conflux of coincidence, my favorite on-line comic (Penny Arcade, by geeks, for geeks) just happened to have a blurb on their front page (scroll down a bit) where they refer to the Boston Red Sox as "Weasel-eating rat fuckers". Not exactly a sentiment I agree with, but somehow it struck me as damned funny. Sorry, Jim.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com