j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-01-09 - 10:50 p.m.

Freaking about Flab, and a job interview

So, because, as I'm sure you know by now, I have to be freaking out about something at pretty much all times, I'm, you guessed it...

Freaking Out.

Tonight at rehearsal (and yes, once again it's all about rehearsal and RockGirl still in the life of j$) I found out that my big climactic, waving around a big-ass sword fight scene requires me to strip to the waist.

Which means my little girdle of flab will be out there for all to see.

Did I mention that I'm freaking out?

So it is now my intention to hit the gym and hit it hard in the scant month I have before opening night. I hope to be able to shed at least a bit of this extra weight. The last thing I want to do is be like Michael Flatley. (shudder).

When I bemoaned my love-handled state to RockGirl, she said (and I quote) "I adore them". When asked why she said (and again, I quote) "because they're mine". Whatever else she is, she is affirming and encouraging. (But I did confirm that if I traded in the love handles for a six-pack, she wouldn't complain. Dig deep enough, and you can find that most women want a man shaped like Brad Pitt.)

In non-flab-related news, I had a job interview today. It is my considered opinion that I wowed everybody, except the person who would be my boss. I was kind of taken aback by his attitude. He just plunked me down and peremptorily said "Well, what have you got for me?". His whole demeanor was kind of negative and dare I say confrontational. He also went out of his way to stress how many people are in contention for this job and to make it clear that the only reason I had even got an interview was that I know Rudy (who works there). All in all not a good impression of the dude.

So I don't know. I think the rank-and-filers would like me to join the team. I think the boss is predisposed towards no. I would love to get the job, but we'll have to see.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com