j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-02-12 - 11:40 a.m.

Fossilized vomit and the big VD.

Gotta love the BBC. Some scientists found (and I quote) "the oldest known fossilized Ichthyosaur vomit". Pushing the bounds of science. I mean. Fossilized vomit. What can you say about that?

Rant 1: eRoommate ate my Triscuits. Pisses me off. I just got home and I wanted to sit in my chair and have a ginger ale and read Harry Potter and eat Triscuits. But when I got there the cupboard was bare, and next to eRoommate's chair, an empty box of Triscuits. Pisses me off.

Rant 2: Highway construction. Here in lovely Colorado we used to have two seasons: Winter and Construction. But now Construction goes year-round. And people don't know how to drive through construction zones. They either slow down to five miles an hour and weave erratically, or continue to do one hundred miles an hour (and weave erratically).

Rant 3: If you don't want to deal with the headaches of being in a play, don't be in a play. Or at least shut up. And if you are responsible for striking a prop, put it in the same place every night. Not difficult that, and immensely helpful for the people who need that prop. Oh yeah, and if you're supposed to be there at a certain time, be there. Myself, I got to the theater before anyone (and couldn't get started because the dressing room was locked) and was literally the last person out tonight (almost getting locked into the dressing room in the process). So, with that degree of dedication, I feel justified in criticizing the slackitude of some others.

Rant 4: To add to the stupid blue paint that I have to get put on every night, I've added a nice smudge of black ink across my forehead. Because the foam on the inside of my helmet (God, I hate that helmet) was too bright, so someone colored it black with a marker without telling me. So now after the fight, I have a black forehead as well as blue paint in my hair. Maybe *I* don't want to be in the show.

I'm having serious money panic attacks right now, but I still don't want to get a job. They sure did make me dumb, didn't they?

*~*

All of that was written last night, but I couldn't put it up because of server issues. Now I'm going to post it with one small addendum.

Valentine's Day is Thursday. RockGirl and I aren't truly celebrating the big VD until Sunday, because I have dress rehearsal on Thursday (romantic, aint it?). Anyway, I haven't had a girlfriend on VD since college and at that point we were both poor so we just went out to dinner and that was good. Now, I'm scratching on the poor door again, but I haven't gotten in yet, so what I'm saying here is I need to get her a present. The one person I could think to ask who knows RockGirl well enough takes Valentine's Day *very* seriously, so I don't want to ask her advice, because it's likely to be expensive. So, here I am, asking you, beloved D-Land.

Remembering that I'm a lazy slacker, and not immensely rich at the moment, what should I get for my girlfriend for Valentine's Day?

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com