j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-10-30 - 11:20 a.m.

Half deaf, Full Monty, forbidden Playstation

So I went to see a doctor yesterday about my ear problems. Here's the deal. My left ear no longer has any wax in it, but it is infected. My right ear apparently has a gigantic plug of wax up next to the ear drum. So this cute nurse woman, with a cute southern accent took a gigantic syringe and firehosed out my right ear. To no avail. So I'm using ear wax remover in it all this week. Which this morning feels like it took a boulder that I didn't know existed and turned it into a plug. I can actually hear better out of my left ear right now. Speaking of the left ear, I have a prescription of Cipro for it ($80 for a little bottle -- holy fucking goddamn shit), so at least I won't be getting ear anthrax anytime soon.

Let me just say I hope I never go deaf. This not hearing well thing sucks. A lot.

Last night I braved the icy, slick, nasty roads, and went down to the see The Full Monty (the touring musical stage version). I didn't much feel like going (the ear infection has given me a four-day headache, plus the aforementioned roads) but I was joining Otter and a bunch of her friends, and I figured if I didn't show, I was gonna be in a world of trouble. My thought going in was that there are some stories that should not be turned into musicals. I was half right. About half the music sucked, or the people just sang out of tune (and if I can tell that, half-deaf and in the nosebleed seats, they must have been way out of tune). However, there were a couple of good songs.

The thing that really amazed me is that they went ahead and did the full monty on-stage. It was for about a half a second, and they were completely backlit, but it was indeed the full monty. Gutsy move.

Of course, I was thinking to myself, if I had a chance to be in a touring stage show, I'd do it.

Right now the big conflict in my life, is whether or not I should go out and buy Tony Hawk 4. Aaaagh...forbidden playstation.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com