j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-05-27 - 10:05 p.m.

Memorial day weekend recap

It's been a long weekend of rushing around to fun and relaxing things. Very busy but very fun. Or, good fun but damned exhausting.

Friday night was dinner with friends. I believe in dinner with friends. Even though you had the same dinner with the same friends a mere week prior. It was a nice, mellow, happy evening.

Saturday I got up and went to a stage combat class. It was called "Pool Noodle Battles". Basically we took big chunks of foam and beat the crap out of each other. The great thing was that we didn't have to worry about all the safety things you have to think about when swinging big pieces of metal at each other. We just wailed on everyone and it was a ton of fun.

Then RockGirl and I went up to Boulder to catch the latest play by the company that I did Lear with. Ummmm...Let me say that I'm glad I wasn't in that. I could have been. They offered me a part, which I had to turn down. The majority of the cast, how do I put this delicately? Sucked ass. I'm sorry. They sucked ass. There were some good bright spots, but overall it was a pretty lackluster play. Geez, I'm getting to be a harsh critic these days.

Sunday morning was swashbuckling class. Sunday night was a party at my stage combat teacher's place (let's just for the record call him Hotspur). It was a good deal of fun, as well. The thing about hanging with a bunch of actors is that they all have so much personality. It makes for very loud and boisterous parties. Hotspur and I have a running joke that I see more of him than I do RockGirl, so when I introduced them he made a show of apologizing. A woman from broadsword class said "I was beginning to believe you didn't exist".

Today, I slept in a bit. Then went up to TwinSis' for a barbecue. Then went over to the apartment of some of RockGirl's friends for a barbecue. Then after having stuffed myself with food for hours on end went to broadsword class.

Then eRoommate and I went over to the B&B (we seem to be trying to make ourselves sick of it before me move (one week away) because we've been there at least twice a week this month) and I ate yet more. I feel like an overstuffed sloth.

All written out it doesn't look like much, but it's been one hell of a weekend. I'm almost looking forward to the week just so I'm not constantly on the move. I need a vacation or something.

Eh. I'll be mellow when I'm dead.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com