j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2003-03-17 - 4:00 p.m.

March to war, Rachel Corey

I'm sure you've all seen by now that the Angry Little Gnome is giving the UN, the American people, the very idea of Democracy, not to mention Peace and Common Sense a big old hearty "Fuck You". If you're a regular reader, you should know by now how upset I am by this development. If not, let me summarize.

War = Bad Fucking Idea.

Dubya = Usurping, Impeachable, Fucked in the Head, Arrogant, Angry Little Gnome.

I've done a lot of ranting and raving around here, and in the rest of my life. I've written some letters, and made some phone calls. I probably should do more. I should have gone to one of the candlelight vigils last night. Instead I was persuaded by the cold, drizzly weather, and by my status as a slacker-ass slacker to stay in and watch Entrapment. That was a bad idea.

~*~

For those of you who missed it in the midst of the "March to War, Motherfucker" coverage, yesterday Rachel Corey, and American peace activist was killed by an Israeli army bulldozer.

These are the things that should not go unnoticed.

This little news bite hit me harder than I can say. Which is sad, considering how many times I've seen news bites about Palestinians killed by Israeli forces, and Israelis blown up by Palestinian suicide bombers. It's not even that she was American. (Though I'm sure that was the only reason I saw this coverage at all. I have it on the authority of a journalist friend that there actually exists a chart detailing how many foreign nationals killed equals one American killed in determining whether or not to run a story. Scary.) It's that she personally had nothing to do with the conflict. She was there trying to make a difference.

She had convictions and the courage to act on them.

And now she's dead.

That makes me sad beyond words.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com