j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-05-22 - 9:40 a.m.

Weird internet discoveries

I really should have written yesterday. What's today, Wednesday? Yeah.

The past few nights I just sprint through the house. I've had maybe two hours at home in the evenings before bed in the past two nights. I just drop by, then cruise out again.

Monday night RockGirl and I went out to dinner with CandleMan and Lo. That was fun. It was good to see them again. They're always laying this guilt trip on me for not hanging out with them, but then they're always calling me last minute, and I have no time, no time, no time. We got into a whole heated discussion about Israel and Palestine and there were some more "this is black and this is white" kind of opinions than I would have guessed.

Yesterday was the day for weird discoveries on the internet. Turkey choker test dummies. I can't even explain. I found this new book by a guy who thinks he can revolutionize science. A New Kind of Science, it's called. All about things called Cellular Automota. His contention seems to be (I aint really a scientist no mo and I aint read the book neither, so's I might be guessing) that all phenomena in the universe could be driven by a (relatively) small set of (relatively) simple rules. I'm realizing there's no way I can explain it. If you're of a scientific bent and have an open mind, I urge you to check it out. It's something I've given a fair amount of thought to in the last day, and I expect my subconscious to be chewing on it for a while. I don't know if I'll ever get around to reading the book (1200 pages, and not light reading), but it seems compelling.

Last night was the last class of my unarmed stage combat class. We learned contact punches, and groin kicks. Somehow I was the crash test dummy for most of the night. We paired up and did a pre-set fight scene, which was critiqued. My partner and I customized it so that he was bouncing my head off the floor a couple of times. That was fun.

Last night RockGirl bought a car. A Saturn S-Series. She came by my house at like 9pm and we loaded up, popped "Life in the fast lane" by the Eagles in the CD player (she has a tradition that road trips must start with the Eagles, so I figured we could carry it over to a new car, even if it wasn't technically a road trip). She drove us down to Castle Rock and back. I tried hard not to look at the speedometer. I knew we were going too fast for my comfort, and that's all I really needed to know.

I rushed my dragging ass into work this morning because my latest "this is you boss till further notice" type person scheduled a daily conference call with me. To make sure that the company is "using my resources to the fullest extent". Translation: they don't think I'm working. Of course, I am, but when they don't give me something to do, I go find something else to do. But if they don't hear from me for a few days, I guess this figure I'm sitting around surfing the web for turkey choker test dummies and writing really long D-Land entries. Which I would never do while at work. Ahem.

Yeah, so I better go. It feels like there was more I wanted to write about, but if it comes to me I'll just come back later. Happy Wednesday.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com