j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-10-02 - 12:30 p.m.

Who you know

Remember that stupid phrase "It's not what you know, but who you know."?

Turns out it's true.

See, I've been trying to find an agent to represent me as an actor, so that I can not just act, but maybe possibly get paid to act. Cause I can find plenty of roles, but the roles that pay, are all hidden away from the general public. You have to be a member of the club to even know that they exist, much less audition for them.

And so I've been trying to find an agent. It has gone something like this. I call them, or email them, or chain myself to their bumper, and their response is this: "Send us a headshot and resume." So I do.

Then nothing.

Lots of nothing.

I've sent off to a dozen agencies (which are about all there are here in Denver). I've got one response of any kind. It was a postcard saying the polite equivalent of "no".

So this is where I was. Until a couple of days ago.

See my mom works for this company that sometimes produces corporate training videos. You know the ones.

"This is Bob. Bob is a new employee. Let's watch Bob and see what he does wrong. Bob, should you really stick that paperclip in the light socket? (Zap) As you can see, Bob is doing just fine."

Anyway, there's a guy at Mom's work who directs all these videos, so that means he hires actors from the local agencies, which means he knows all the agents. So I called him up and he told me to call the agents and drop his name. I explained my past success (or lack thereof) with these same agents. He told me to try.

So I did.

Holy Shit.

It was like a magical password. I called the "Big Three" agencies, and out of that got two auditions. It's amazing to me.

~*~

In other news, I've started up a little email correspondence with ShyGirl. In one of her emails she used the phrase "my soon to be ex-boyfriend". Hmmmmm...

~*~

In still other news, I hung out with Otter last night. She's nice. I'm not attracted. We are not going to date. Didn't I say a couple of days ago that I needed to make sure that that was clear? Yep, well I still do. Cause, I suck at that kind of stuff. But she deserves the unalloyed truth.

~*~

Yesterday I signed up with a temp agency. Hopefully I'll get some money coming in soon. I need it.

~*~

Anyway, I need to go memorize my monologue.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com