j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-01-04 - 10:40 p.m.

Gauntlets and Happiness

So, my girlfriend (I really love saying that) is a pretty damn cool woman. Plus, she's incredibly helpful to have around. (Oh, yeah, and she's sexy too, but we're not going there right now.)

Anyway, I had to find some leather gauntlets for my sword-fighting scenes in King Lear. (Me, swinging around a hand and a half bastard sword. Grunt to the tenth power. I sooooo can't wait.) So RockGirl, hearing my predicament, gets on the phone to one of her friends, and immediately finds the *perfect* leather store. We drive down there, and here's how it went:

Me: "I'm in a production of King Lear, and I'm doing some sword fights, and I need some well-fitting gauntlets, with some wrist protection, that aren't going to wear out easily."

Dude: "I have just the thing. I've sold these gauntlets for exactly the same purpose many times before."

How cool is that?

Pretty damn cool thankyouverymuch.

And so tonight at rehearsal, I looked like Johnny on the Spot, cause I only learned about the need for them last night, and the director and fight choreographer looked at 'em and both said "perfect".

All cause my girlfriend (yep, still like sayin' it) knows *just* the right kind of freak.

So I realize that all my entries right now are about how I'm acting in a play, but that's most of what's occupying my mind right now. That and my girlfriend. (You may be getting sick of that. I'm not.)

I said to her today (my girlfriend that is -- had to sneak another one in) that maybe three months ago, I had myself convinced that it would be really hard to act. It wasn't. I am amazed at how easy it was to get into a play once I decided that doing so was a priority. I'm sure getting paid to do that will end up being harder, but right now I have no doubt that if I put my mind to it, and throw enough effort at it, I will accomplish it.

One trait of RockGirl I'm trying hard to emulate is her confidence. She has oceans of it. Her confidence in me is really helping me find more in myself.

Geez, I hope things work out between us. I hope these good times last for a long, long, long damned time.

Cause right now I'm happier than I've been in dog's age.

And I'll sign off before I make myself puke.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com