j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-09-03 - 1:30 p.m.

Labor Day Recap and some random addendums

So what's up?

Friday night we had our own little last hurrah cast party. Which was awesome. BoBoGirl got drunk, and she *never* drinks, so that was a real treat for the rest of us. She's generally a hoot anyway, but when she's drunk. Definitely a good time. It's so hard to convey what it was like. This cast bonded like nobody's business. We were together for eight months. I saw them more than I saw my family, often more than I saw RockGirl. The theater world is just so different from the rest of the world. It's like a loose family that breaks up and reforms in new ways with every show. I can't describe it. But I live for it.

Saturday I did nothing. And it was everything I dreamed it could be. I watched Rushmore, which was good, but was a little disappointing after Royal Tenenbaums cause that movie kicks way too much ass. That was really the only notable thing I did on Saturday. Slacker much?

Sunday I went over to Mom's for our Labor Day barbecue. Which we ended up doing inside because in the time since Mom last used her grill, some wasps set up shop on it. So we ate hamburgers and such at the dining room table. I rode down with the sisters, and it was a nice little bonding time. We talked about Dad, and how some of the stuff that BigSis has been saying to him (Hello? Do you still consider yourself our Dad, cause it's not looking like that from this side of the fence.) is slowly starting to sink in. We know his heart is in the right place, but he cannot for the life of him show it. I wonder if this has anything to do with my own issues with relationships. I dunno.

Sunday night HeroMan came over. We watched Resident Evil, which was much better than I would have guessed. It was smarter than I was going to give it credit for. Also, in the special features on the DVD, Milla Jovovich said "You get to see me in a wet mini-dress with a gun. What more do you want?" So after I heard that I didn't feel quite so bad for ogling all through the movie. But as much as I love Milla (Jumping Jesus on a pogo stick she has a beautiful face), for my money, Michelle Rodriguez stole the show. Her first ten seconds on screen she reminded me of Vasquez. She was strong, intense, beautiful. Watch her, I predict big things.

After we watched the movie, we fired up a Playstation game that we also rented. Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance. We started playing it at about 11pm. We stopped at 7am. I shit you not. I haven't done that in so freaking long. HeroMan went home, and I staggered to bed. I got up at noon, because I had to pick up eRoommate from the airport. I got back, ate a little food, and went back in. I played for six more hours (ending sometime after 9pm) and beat the game.

I am the world's *biggest* geek.

I need a job.

I tried to go to bed early (read 11pm) but I had inspiration and got up and wrote until 1:30. That screenplay that I've been working on is slowly coming together. I gave up on it being feature length, and right now I'm guessing it'll end up being about 30-45 minutes. I'm hoping that the work I did last night will actually give it a theme, or a message, or at least a little cohesion. I still have a couple of new scenes to do before I really start revising it, but I'm stalling on them. I need to show a time-compressed slice of a relationship, and I don't want to do it in the same old hackneyed Hollywood way. I need something new, and I haven't come up with it yet.

~*~

Quick note. RockGirl called me on Sunday. She wants to get together to talk. I don't know what about, but I can't imagine that it'll be a fun conversation. We're getting together tonight. I may update about it. We'll see how I feel.

~*~

If I don't work out today, will someone please shoot me? Thanks.

~*~

Oh yeah. Like Jim I got Aaron Brooks in my fantasy draft. Not quite as strong a QB as I'd hoped, but I'm hoping that my strength at running back (Ricky Williams, Antowain Smith, and LaDanian Tomlinson) will make up for it.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com