j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

-

Auditions, rhythm, painting, unexpected good luck, and being a moron

So the audition the other night was a long, grueling, sweaty process. At the callback I had to sing in front of a bunch of people, but I'm getting more used to that. We had to learn a dance number on the spot and then perform it. That was a bitch. The real problem with it is that the "coreographer" (and I use the term loosely) has no rhythm. At all. My buddy from the current show, CG, and I were in the back row whispering to each other. "She just dropped a beat". "She just said that move should take eight beats but she did it in four". "Could she maybe do the dance the same way twice? Just twice?" So I just concentrated on smiling and selling it. (By the way, we really weren't all that bad. We know this woman, and we both love her to death. She's great. Honest. Just no rhythm.)

Yesterday I painted my bedroom. It took about five hours and it was a pain in the ass. It came out pretty well (though I have a few spots I need to touch up).

Last night I found out that the audition was a success. I got in the show. Which I am extremely happy about. I was so excited that I celebrated by spilling a half a gallon of latex paint on the carpet.

I hate when I'm a moron.

I was on the phone with RockGirl at the time, and I freaked out. She put on her drill seargent voice and gave me instructions on how to get out of the mess. I ran over to the grocery store and rented a carpet cleaner. The good news is that I got all the paint out. But damn! I hate when I'm a moron.

Today, I'm going to go rehearse my scene for the single sword test coming up this weekend, then go to improv class.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot. The folks at TempJob called me up. They may want me to do some editing and

technical writing for them. Working from home (cause the Denver office is closing), for nearly twice the money. Through August-ish. Sometimes I am the luckiest son-of-a-bitch in the world.

But I'm still a moron.

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com