j-money.diaryland.com
No artist is pleased. There is no satisfaction at anytime.
There is only a queer, divine dissatisfaction,
a blessed unrest keeps us marching and makes us more alive than others.
-- Martha Graham to Agnes De Mille
Was || Will Be || Past Moments || Now || Notes

2002-04-15 - 4:26 p.m.

Monday afternoon pipe dreams

I was talking with an old high school friend last night (I don't remember if he's ever been dubbed in j$ world, but I'm too lazy to check so from now on he's WanderingDude) and he reminded me that I had forgotten about a conversation we'd had some time ago about trying to produce some theater/film/acting/creative type stuff. Now, I'm more aware than most people of just how little I know about all the business end of theater 'n' film. He probably knows at least a hair more than I (considering he at least got a degree in acting, though it was from the University of No Credit, so don't forget your grain of salt) but I'm still guessing that our collective knowledge is somewhere between slim and none.

Despite all of this, I think it'd be cool for us to actually do something like that. If I could ever stop futzing around in all my insomnia hours and maybe dust off that screenplay of mine, it might be a good start. I'm thinking that since I was stalling out trying to come up with a way to stretch the story to feature-length (and failing), maybe if I re-craft it to short-film length we'd have half a chance of doing it. I feel like I'm starting to tap into a knowledgeable and friendly community of film-makers here in town. I'm hoping that we could find some people to take us under proverbial wings and help us make dream into reality.

Hell, Sam Raimi, Bruce Campbell, et al managed to make Evil Dead with practically no experience or budget. Why the hell can't we?

Ah, it's a Monday afternoon. Is it any wonder I'm entertaining myself with pipe dreams?

Hosted by my beloved DLand
Sign My Guestbook!�� powered by SignMyGuestbook.com